The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development were adopted at a United Nations’ summit and came into force in September 2015. These goals apply universally and are not legally binding. They provide a means to ensure that efforts are taken to end all forms of poverty, fight inequalities and tackle climate change in an inclusive manner. 

The SDGs build on the success of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and call for the end of all forms of poverty. The goals and their associated targets recognise that initiatives to end poverty need to simultaneously create economic growth and address social needs such as education, health, social protection and job opportunities. Additionally, these initiatives need to tackle climate change and ensure environmental protection.

Goal 1: No Poverty 

Goal 2: Zero Hunger 

Goal 3: Good Health and Well-being 

Goal 4: Quality Education 

Goal 5: Gender Equality 

Goal 6: Clean Water and Sanitation 

Goal 7: Affordable and Clean Energy

Goal 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth 

Goal 9: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

Goal 10: Reduced Inequalities

Goal 11: Sustainable Cities 

Goal 12: Responsible Consumption and Production  

Goal 13: Climate Action

Goal 14: Life Below Water 

Goal 15: Life on Land 

Goal 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

Goal 17: Partnerships for the Goals