The City of Cape Town’s Transport Directorate is calling on members of the public to submit their comments on the proposal to close the Dean Street subway in Newlands after dark. The period for public comment commenced on 24 June 2021 with the last day being 24 July 2021.

The subway assists in managing the large volumes of people associated with events and sports matches at the Newlands Stadium. However, these events are no longer taking place and is not expected to be happening in the near future due to the proposed change of use of the stadium. As such, the subway is underutilised and has now become an issue of public safety. Therefore, the proposal is to close the subway at night to ensure public safety.

Members of the public currently using the subway can use the safe signalised crossing at the intersection of Dean Street and Main Road, as an alternative at night. The temporary closure of the subway will entail Installing lockable gates at each end of the tunnel and opening and closing these gates each day. The gates will open at 06:00 and close daily at 18:00.

The Groote Schuur Community Improvement District (GSCID) will take responsibility for opening and closing and, as a back-up, the Newlands Residents Association security team is available 24/7. Members of the public can submit comments in one of the following ways:

  • Telephone: 0800 65 64 63 (toll-free)
  • Email: (quote reference number 7200306814)
  • Hand: Subcouncil 20 office, Alphen Centre, Constantia Main Road, Constantia
  • Online:

The City’s Public Participation Unit will assist people who cannot read or write, people living with disabilities and people from disadvantaged groups who are unable to submit written comments to have their inputs and comments recorded and submitted to the City.

The City is mandated in terms of section 17 of the Local Government’s Municipal Systems Act, Act 32 of 2000, to give members of the public and interested parties or groups an opportunity to submit comments, recommendations or input on such proposals to the municipality.