The Intermodal Planning Committee (IPC) is established in terms of the Constitution of TCT By-Law and the National Land Transport Act. The IPC, which is chaired by Melissa Whitehead, has now convened four times. Transit Oriented Development is a high level topic which is currently being addressed in the plenary of the IPC.

Seven subcommittees have been established under the IPC, namely Functional Region, Rail Management, Transport Enforcement, Stakeholder Management & Communications, Regional Minibus Taxi, Land Use Management and Port Subcommittees. In February 2015 each of the seven subcommittees were tasked with a focused research topic which they will explore. 

As its first key deliverable, the IPC arranged a Transit Oriented Development (TOD) Summit that brought together stakeholders and interested parties to debate transit oriented development and its relevance to Cape Town and its functional area. 


Rail Management Subcommittee

The Rail Management Subcommittee was established to oversee the integration of rail transport into the public transport system for the functional area of Cape Town as directed by the Intermodal Planning Committee. It has its roots in the Rail Steering Committee which was restructured after consultation with the Passenger Rail Authority of South Africa (Prasa), in alignment with the National Land Transport Act and the By-Law.

There are two working groups under the subcommittee, namely:

• Planning and Project Implementation

• Rail Operations Interface.

Provision for ad hoc project management teams has also been made for use as and when they are required.

Minibus Taxi Subcommittee

This subcommittee is comprised of four members from SANTACO Western Cape and two members of each of the six regional minibus taxi structures that operate in the City of Cape Town.

The purpose of this subcommittee is two-fold, firstly to receive functional issues and redirect them to the correct places for action while ensuring that issues impacting on multiple parties are addressed in a comprehensive manner. The second purpose is for the City and Province to work alongside SANTACO and the regional minibus taxi structures to determine a new economic model for the minibus taxi industry within the context of sustainable, integrated and intermodal public transport and to ensure that the Integrated Public Transport Network 2032 is given effect to.

Land Use Subcommittee

This subcommittee focuses on transport versus land use issues and Subcommittees the relationship between the two. Transit oriented development (TOD) and related transversal matters will be addressed in this subcommittee. This structure will not replace the City’s existing TOD working groups, but will complement and feed through multi-stakeholder issues of importance.

Port Infrastructure Subcommittee

There have been a number of Transnet, freight and port-related issues that over the past years have not been appropriately managed from a stakeholder point of view. The Land Transport Advisory Board recommended the establishment of this subcommittee to coordinate all of these issues within the City. Transnet and the Western Cape Government are the core stakeholders.

Transport Law Enforcement Subcommittee

The Intermodal Planning Committee approved the formal establishment of the Public Transport Law Enforcement Subcommittee, which was previously constituted as a task team. Its main objective is to integrate and align the public transport law enforcement efforts of the seven law enforcement agencies in the city. Its key deliverables are to:
• Involve the respective law enforcement agencies as equal partners in promoting the safe and efficient use of the transport system within the City of Cape Town;
• Align and consolidate the prioritised activities of the law enforcement agencies and Transport for Cape Town;
• Establish and set agreed targets against which the service and efficacy of transport law enforcement can be measured;
• Investigate the roll out of additional technology in support of law enforcement requirements in the transport system;
• Investigate the appropriate option for funding the expansion of resources in support of the priorities identified; and
• Investigate the efficacy of the dedicated law enforcement teams.

Functional Region Subcommittee

The Functional Region Subcommittee focuses on the significant economic, commuter, transport network and other interdependencies and interrelationships between the City of Cape Town and surrounding municipalities such as Stellenbosch, Drakenstein, Saldanha and others. The subcommittee is tasked with finding practical answers and outputs in response to inter– municipal dependencies, and the appropriate mechanisms to put them into effect. This may lead to policy development and possible functional area projects within this interdependent region.

Some of the key areas of focus include:
• Transit oriented development (TOD);
• Planning frameworks including the Comprehensive Integrated Transport Plan (CITP), Integrated Transport Plans (ITPs) and Integrated Public Transport Networks (IPTNs);
• Transport movement patterns with respect to freight and commuters;
• Transport and road projects;
• Integrated transport networks, public transport interchanges and stations;
• Contracting Authority and Municipal Regulatory Entity (these are assignment related); and
• Operating Licensing Function.

Stakeholder Relations Management and Communication Subcommittee

Transport for Cape Town has identified the need to restructure and formalise its stakeholder management and communication processes. This newly established subcommittee has as its first step been tasked with building understanding of the multiple stakeholder organisations, subcommittees and working groups within the ambit of the Intermodal Planning Committee, which feeds into the Land Transport Advisory Board. The next step is to establish the benchmark for measurable, broad-based, multi stakeholder communication and engagement processes.


Members of the IPC are:

Melissa Whitehead (Chairperson)
Transport for Cape Town 

Toni van Niekerk 
Director: Performance & Coordination
Transport for Cape Town

Maddie Mazaza 
Director: Planning 
Transport for Cape Town

Sipho Afrika 
Director: Contracts Operation 
Transport for Cape Town

Peter Sole
Director: Network Management
Transport for Cape Town

Tony Vieira
Manager: Infrastructure Management and Investment
Transport for Cape Town

Japie Hugo 
Executive Director: Economic, Environmental & Spatial Planning 
City of Cape Town

Riaan van Eeden
Manager: Spatial Planning
Transport for Cape Town

Adelaide Cupido 
Manager: TCT Compliance 
Transport for Cape Town

Sanele Nyoka
Partnership Management
Transport for Cape Town

Mawethu Vilana 
Director General
National Department of Transport

Jacqui Gooch 
Head of Department of Transport & Public Works 
Western Cape Government

Richard Walker
Chief Executive Officer

Hishaam Emeran 
Strategic Network Planning General Manager 

Andre van Niekerk 
Director Engineering Services 
Stellenbosch Municipality

S. Muller 
Director Infrastructure & Planning 
Overstrand Municipality

Conrad van Heerden 
Director Technical Services 
Theewaterskloof Municipality

Vernon Samuels 
Senior Manager: Special Projects 

Randal Julies 
Senior Manager: Capital, Strategic & Long Term Planning 

Terra Nongqongqo 
Regional Operational Manager 

Mthuthuzeli Swartz 
Regional Manager