The launch of Transport for Cape Town’s Land Transport Advisory Board (LTAB), which held its inaugural meeting in September 2014, brings the City, its stakeholders and commuters closer to the important goal of providing integrated transport services.

The vision of an efficient, seamless, safe and reliable public transport system operating across modes drives the need for ongoing and closer collaboration between all role players in the provision of transport services. The frank and informative discussions which have characterised the work of the LTAB to date are helping us to ensure that the actions of different role players are co-ordinated and that priorities are aligned in order to achieve the shared goal of an improved public transport system.

To date, it has directed the innovative process of forging a partnership with the minibus taxi industry, including having:

  • Ensured the establishment of the Regional Minibus Taxi Subcommittee
  • Deliberated on the transformation model for the miibus taxi industry
  • Deliberated on the rail issues in Cape Town, engaged with PRASA who is an important member of the LTAB and IPC and agreed to a Memorandum of Action for rail in Cape Town.
  • Directed the establishment of an operational task team for joint interventions in rail issues. 

Members of the LTAB are: 

Cllr Brett Herron
TCT Mayco Member / Chairperson

Donald Grant
MEC for Transport and Public Works 

Cllr Johannes Van der Merwe 
Mayco Member: Energy, Environmental and Spatial Planning

Theresa Thompson
TCT Portfolio Committee Chairperson 

Nozipho Sithole
Transnet General Manager: Business Unit Iron Ore and Manganese

Melissa Whitehead
Commissioner: Transport for Cape Town 

Dawid Botha
Mayco Member for Engineering Services: Stellenbosch 

Alderman P.  Scholtz
Mayco Member for Transport:  Overstrand

Pearl Stanfliet
Mayco Member for Transport: Theewaterskloof

Reginald van der Westhuizen
Mayco Member for Transport: Swartland

Johan Rademeyer
Mayco Member for Transport: Drakenstein

Frank Pronk
Mayco Member for Town Planning and Strategic Services: Saldanha Bay 

Vernon Billet
President Santaco Western Cape