These are structures established by Transport for Cape Town in terms of the National Land Transport Act of 2009.

The NLTA requires municipalities that are moving towards an integrated public transport agenda to establish a Land Transport Advisory Board (LTAB) and Intermodal Planning Committee (IPC) consisting of officials, decision-makers and representatives of rail operators, road-based public transport services, users, organised business, government and key state-owned enterprises.

These stakeholder structures functions are to co-ordinate public transport between the modes to achieve the objects of the NLTA. As part of its establishment, TCT determined the necessity of both the LTAB and IPC along with its subcommittees to facilitate peer review and coordination on the strategic transport agenda. This has been derived from the Comprehensive Integrated Transport Plan (CITP) and the Integrated Public Transport Network 2032 (IPTN). 

  • Land Transport Advisory Board (LTAB)

    The launch of Transport for Cape Town’s Land Transport Advisory Board (LTAB), which held its inaugural meeting in September 2014, brings the City, its stakeholders and commuters closer to the important goal of providing integrated transport services.

  • Intermodal Planning Committee

    The Intermodal Planning Committee (IPC) is established in terms of the Constitution of TCT By-Law and the National Land Transport Act. The IPC, which is chaired by Melissa Whitehead, has now convened four times. Transit Oriented Development is a high level topic which is currently being addressed in the plenary of the IPC.

    Seven subcommittees have been established under the IPC, namely Functional Region, Rail Management, Transport Enforcement, Stakeholder Management & Communications, Regional Minibus Taxi, Land Use Management and Port Subcommittees. In February 2015 each of the seven subcommittees were tasked with a focused research topic which they will explore.