Transport for Cape Town has both political and administrative leadership. TCT is led by the Member of the Mayoral Committee responsible for Transport for Cape Town, Councillor Brett Herron and the Commissioner: Transport for Cape Town. Policy is set by the political leadership and implemented collaboratively by the administrative leadership.

Most successful transport authorities have a combination of a political champion and a strategic administrator who work in partnership to drive forward the transport agenda. In Cape Town, the establishment of TCT, which started with the development of the By-law, was successful due to the partnership between the Mayoral Committee Member for TCT and the Commissioner for TCT who have the same objective but different roles. This partnership is critical in order to execute and deliver TCT’s comprehensive integrated transport agenda going forward. Not only is there a common purpose but the performance-oriented service delivery and investment agenda will be given the strategic emphasis that will enable both the administrative and decision-making processes to be pioneering.

  • Mayoral Committee Member: TCT

    Councillor Brett Herron is the Mayoral Committee Member: Transport for Cape Town.

    A lawyer by profession, he is the political champion for TCT including the many facets of transportation as well as Transit Oriented Development in Cape Town. He serves as the Chairperson for the City's Land Transport Advisory Board (LTAB) established in terms of the National Land Transport Act, 2009 (NLTA).

  • Commissioner: TCT

    The Commissioner: Transport for Cape Town is Melissa Whitehead.

    Melissa has extensive experience in the transport and integrated systems professions. She holds a degree in Town and Regional Planning from the University of the Witwatersrand, as well as a Master's in Environmental Planning for Developing Countries from the University of Nottingham, United Kingdom.